Teaching Hospital Ratnapura is the largest tertiary care hospital in Sabaragamuwa province administered under the purview of the Ministry of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine.    It provides specialized health care services mainly to the Sabaragamuwa province, which consists of Ratnapura and Kegalle Districts covering a population of 2,009,000 in an extent of 4968 km2 area. People coming from other provinces such as Uva, Southern and Eastern seek specialized medical care from the hospital.

The hospital was started in 1877 in Ratnpura main city. Then it was relocated 1958 by the late Hon. Prime Minister Mr. S.W.R.D. Bandaranaieke in a 62-acre land due to frequent flood. The hospital was upgrades as a Teaching Hospital in 11st October 2018 in order to provide comprehensive clinical training to the students of newly established medical faculty of University of Sabaragamuwa.

The hospital is responsible for rendering advanced tertiary and secondary medical, surgical and rehabilitative services to its population. It comprises 25 units with 41 wards. 3 theaters, ICUs for inpatient service.  Emergency Treatment Unit, Outpatient service and specialized clinic service are also in the hospital. Further, it is equipped to perform advanced investigations such as CT scanning, interventional radiography, angiography. These services are provided free of charge.

The hospital also provides teaching and training to intern medical officers, postgraduate trainees from Postgraduate Institute of Medicine, Colombo and nursing students from Nursing School Ratnapura.

Close Menu